If you don't check the box in the promotion calendar, the work will be on an automatic renewal task schedule. If you selected one of the promotion durations of 14, 21, or 30 days, your works will be promoted for the selected number of days and will be closed later (the promotion will stop AND the job will close). While LinkedIn doesn't automatically repost jobs, recruiters can repost a job any time after the closure. Closing a job and then reposting it means that it will be treated as a new job offer.
By doing this, all the applicant information that was previously collected will be associated with the closed job offer. Jobs aren't automatically republished on LinkedIn. You have the option to refresh them. They may not believe that the person they are offering the job to will accept it and want other applicants to consider it.
Otherwise, it was a way out because they didn't want to say why they didn't offer you the job. In fact, I ended up sending an email to the hiring manager to tell him that I had seen a new post on LinkedIn and that if it was open again, I would like to be reconsidered, and he confirmed that the position was not available again and that it was an automatic LinkedIn post. If you post a job on LinkedIn, your job offer will remain open and active until you close it yourself. Job offers can be recommended to potential candidates via their email, and they can also receive automatic mobile notifications when relevant jobs are posted.
So, is there another vacancy for the position? Would it be wise for me to contact the hiring manager to ask if they would reconsider me? Or is this a LinkedIn feature where jobs are automatically republished? Companies sometimes post jobs that are already busy to have potential candidates available if a similar job is ever needed. Most job offers remain active for 30 days, however, how long a job offer stays active depends on the company, the industry, the industry's employment rate, and the position.